Fight For Your Life

It’s been a while since I played Left 4 Dead, so that’s exactly what I just did. I played as Zoey (as usual) and played on my favourite campaign from the first game: Dead Air. There is just something about the idea of a zombie apocalypse in an airport that really seems weirdly cool.

For those of you who don’t know, Left 4 Dead 1 and 2 are Xbox 360 games that see you play as one of four characters (different in both games) and the idea is to get to the end of the level alive by working as a team. Because there aren’t just your average everyday zombies, but these mutated ones that have ‘special’ powers. In the first game you have the Boomer, who throws up on you, thus attracting a horde of normal zombies, the Smoker who grabs you with his tongue and drags you away, the Hunter who pounces on you from far away, the Witch whos sits and cries until you get too close and startle her, which leads to you being violently attacked by her, and finally the Tank, who is a great big bulk of a zombie, driven by anger (much like the Hulk, but not green) who goes around using brute force to try to kill you.

So yeah, teamwork is a must in this game.

I was doing really well at first, killing the first four Hunters who showed their faces. They seem to have a thing for pouncing my character Zoey. So I showed them a thing or two. But then, as it usually does in Left 4 Dead, things went wrong. I think it was a horde that made things go wrong, then we had the first Tank and I distinctly remember running away from it like a wuss, dealing very little to that particular one. So then I threw all caution to the wind and just plowed through the zombies, but simultaneously making sure my team mates were with me (they are controled by the computer). It got a little chaotic, let me tell you. But the most important thing I remember from that chaos:

I remember particularly a zombie who try to climb a fence, only to be shot down. But it fell down bent at a 90 degree angle, whirling its dead arms around and around and landed on its ass. It was quite amusing. Then there was the Hunter who tried to jump and pounce me from the bottom of an escalator (I was at the top). I quite spectacularly shot it in the head mid-flight and its momentum carried it head-first into the escalator. Finally there was the two fail Smokers, and by fail I mean they completely missed when trying to grab any of us with their tongues. I chased after them and cut them down in their prime.

You will be pleased to know that me and my team mates did not die and got to the end of the campaign and into the rescue plane in one piece. Louis was caught by a Smoker at the last moment, but I ran out of the safety of the plane to rescue him. Aren’t I just a little hero?

And finally here is a funny picture to amuse you:

Leave a Reply

